1. Home
  2. Buy Tickets

Booking and Reservation for WHEELCHAIR User & Companion:

If you are a wheelchair user you can book a ticket and make a reservation for you and your wheelchair together with one accompanied carer or companion for travel on our steam-hauled train services shown below.

Please note that due to the heritage layout of our 1950s railway carriages availability is limited to one pre-booked wheelchair per train service for travel in the Guard's brakevan area when starting out from Chinnor station.

There are double doors and a ramp for entry and exit, plus there is a table at a window and non-slip flooring, together with a chair for your carer or companion. Access via the ramp is your responsibility for boarding safely.

Price

One wheelchair user plus your accompanied carer / companion costs £15 (plus £2 booking fee) for the return trip = £17 total.

Please note this concessionary fare offer is NOT available on any dining services or special event days, e.g. not available for lunches, teas, gala days, etc.

Joining at Chinnor Station

Level access suitable for wheelchairs is available via the old Station Approach road where there is a side-gate to the platform near the station building (SatNav OX39 4ER). Whilst parking is not generally allowed on this privately-owned road, your driver can drop less able passengers off at the side-gate and then retrace their route and park up in the main station car park (and similarly return via the same route at the end of your visit).

Access to the old Station Approach road is gained by turning right into the road on the Chinnor village side of the railway bridge and then going past the front of the dental surgery. Please drive slowly, keeping a good lookout for children who often play in the area.

Toilet Facilities

Toilet facilities for disabled visitors are available at Chinnor station. No toilets with disabled access are available on the train and this is due again to the age and heritage construction of the coaches.

Finally, we always welcome any feedback and you can contact us at enquiries@chinnorrailway.co.uk 

Booking information

Passengers who are less able are encouraged to call General Enquiries on 07979 055366 (10.00 - 16.00) before travelling, or alternatively please ask to speak with the Duty Line Manager on arrival at Chinnor station. We can then ensure that our Volunteer staff are informed and that, if required, the gate from the old Station Approach road is open where required.

Book tickets

Sun 23 Jun 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Sun 30 Jun 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Sun 07 Jul 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Sun 14 Jul 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Sun 21 Jul 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Sun 28 Jul 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Thu 01 Aug 2024
10:45
12:15
14:00
15:30
Sun 04 Aug 2024

10:45 Sorry - this Wheelchair Space has already been reserved

13:15
16:00
Thu 08 Aug 2024
10:45
12:15
14:00
15:30
Sun 11 Aug 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Thu 15 Aug 2024
10:45
12:15
14:00
15:30
Sun 18 Aug 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Thu 22 Aug 2024
10:45
12:15
14:00
15:30
Sun 25 Aug 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Mon 26 Aug 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Thu 29 Aug 2024
10:45
12:15
14:00
15:30
Sun 01 Sep 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Sun 08 Sep 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Sun 22 Sep 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Sun 29 Sep 2024
10:45
13:15
16:00
Sun 06 Oct 2024
10:45
12:15
14:00
15:30
Sun 20 Oct 2024
10:45
12:15
14:00
15:30