1. Home
  2. Buy Tickets

Day Rover Tickets & Fares for Standard Days:

You can join our steam and vintage diesel trains at either Chinnor or Princes Risborough stations - for car parking and public transport access please see the section on Arriving. Choose your seats, sit back, relax and enjoy the panorama alongside the Chiltern Hills as the lovely views open out with the Vale of Aylesbury stretching into the distance. As the scenery gently unfolds past your window you may also spot some of our local wildlife and the ubiquitous Red Kites whirling overhead! For further information please see our Journey Guide.

STANDARD DAY FARES:

Standard Day tickets are issued as go-as-you-please Day Rovers and are valid on every train and all day long! Stay for the whole or half day - or come for just one return journey if you only prefer a taster - it's all the same price and you can also choose to break your journey at Chinnor or Princes Risborough for a stroll into the village or town.

Adult, Concession, Resident and Child tickets may be purchased at stations or online until 14.00 on the day of travel. If bought online the 'adult' tickets are generally £1 cheaper than buying at stations (note £2 agency fee per online transaction applies):

On the train: Residents please show proof of local address, or Card holders bring your card with you - thank you!

Other Concessionary Cards - we also accept HRA Privilege Cards, TOC/Network Rail Privilege Cards, Members Cards and Directors Passes. See your Card issuer for concession rates and details. Tickets are only available on the day of travel at station ticket offices. 

Single tickets (for travel in one direction) are only available on the day of travel at station ticket offices - please call 07979-055366 (10.00-16.00) for information.

Less-able Concessionary tickets - for visually impaired or those whose disability necessitates a carer - when one full price Adult Rover ticket is purchased at station ticket offices the less-able person together with one accompanying carer may travel together for the total cost of £16.00. The same Concessionary ticket arrangements also apply for wheelchair users (to book wheelchair spaces please see below).

Accessiblity we welcome all visitors to the Railway, including those who are less able and their accompanying carer or assistance dog. Wheelchair spaces are limited to one per steam hauled train and reservations for your wheelchair and accompanying carer or companion must be obtained in advance - please call 07979-055366 (10.00-16.00) to book.

Well-behaved small dogs are always welcome and travel Free - they must be kept on a short lead and must NOT be allowed on the seats - do bring a blanket or similar for them to sit on the floor please. Dogs are NOT allowed in any Restaurant or dining areas (except Assistant dogs).

Buggies and strollers CANNOT be accommodated on the trains. They may be left on the platform at our stations, or if arriving by car you may prefer to leave them in your vehicle.

No seat reservations are required on any Standard Day - which means that you can choose to sit in any non-dining areas on every train - take a look through the carriages and choose those that you like - we aim to provide ample seats according to the time of day!

STANDARD DAY TIMETABLES - GREEN AND RED 2024:

Please check you dates of travel carefully - we wouldn't want you to miss your train!

THE GREEN TIMETABLE OPERATES ONLY ON: 10, 17, 24, 29, 31 March; 01, 07, 11 April; 30 May; 16 June; 01, 08, 15, 22, 29 August:

STANDARD GREEN TIMETABLE  
Steam
 
Steam
 
Steam
 
Steam
Chinnor dep   10.45     12.15   14.00   15.30
Princes Risborough arr   11.06   12.36   14.21   15.51
                 
Princes Risborough dep   11.20   12.50   14.35   16.05
Chinnor arr   11.41   13.10   14.56   16.34

THE RED TIMETABLE OPERATES ONLY ON: 14, 21, 28 April; 05, 06, 12, 19, 26, 27 May; 02, 09, 23, 30 June; 07, 14, 21, 28 July; 04, 11, 18, 25, 26 August:

STANDARD RED TIMETABLE

 

 Steam

 

Diesel

  

Steam

 

Diesel

  

Steam

Chinnor dep    10.45   12.05     13.15   14.45   16.00
Princes Risborough arr    11.06   12.22   13.36   15.02   16.21
                     
Princes Risborough dep    11.20   12.30   13.50   15.15   16.35
Chinnor arr    11.41   12.47   14.14   15.32   17.04

FOOD & DRINK:

The Station Café at Chinnor serves teas, coffees, assorted drinks, juice cartons and bottled water. We also have a selection of sandwiches and baps all freshly made on the day, together with hot sausage rolls and pasties, homemade cakes, biscuits, crisps etc. A trolley service of tea, coffee and snacks is also available on some steam-hauled trains.

OTHER LOCAL THINGS TO SEE & DO:

If you are looking for something more to do in Chinnor village or Princes Risborough town, or more generally in the local area - please see our What to see and do section for information.

We look forward to your visit and thank you for your support.

Booking information

For more information please call us on 07979 055366 (10.00 - 16.00 hours) or by email bookings@chinnorrailway.co.uk.

Book tickets

Sun 10 Mar 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 17 Mar 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 24 Mar 2024
Open Day Event
Fri 29 Mar 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 31 Mar 2024
Open Day Event
Mon 01 Apr 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 07 Apr 2024
Open Day Event
Thu 11 Apr 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 14 Apr 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 21 Apr 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 28 Apr 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 05 May 2024
Open Day Event
Mon 06 May 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 12 May 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 19 May 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 26 May 2024
Open Day Event
Mon 27 May 2024
Open Day Event
Thu 30 May 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 02 Jun 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 09 Jun 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 16 Jun 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 23 Jun 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 30 Jun 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 07 Jul 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 14 Jul 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 21 Jul 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 28 Jul 2024
Open Day Event
Thu 01 Aug 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 04 Aug 2024
Open Day Event
Thu 08 Aug 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 11 Aug 2024
Open Day Event
Thu 15 Aug 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 18 Aug 2024
Open Day Event
Thu 22 Aug 2024
Open Day Event
Sun 25 Aug 2024
Open Day Event
Mon 26 Aug 2024
Open Day Event
Thu 29 Aug 2024
Open Day Event

Related Products: